Six Members of the Class of 2010 Named National Merit Semi-Finalists

Six out of 45 members of the New City School Class of 2010 were named Semi-Finalists in the 61st annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Winning students are assessed rigorously on their academic skills, accomplishments, and potential for success in college studies.
The six students chosen were Reid Doctor (Metro Classical High School), Erin Byrne (John Burroughs School), Kamau Walker (John Burroughs School), Desmond Reed (MICDS), Rebecka Greenspan (MICDS), and Jaelithe Virgin (Clayton High School). 

Around 1.5 million high school juniors in more than 22,000 high schools entered the program. Students were initially screened by taking the 2014 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. Only 16,000 students were chosen as semi-finalists, and this spring they will compete for around 8,000 National Merit Scholarships worth around $33 million. Less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors achieve National Merit Semi-Finalist status, including the highest scoring entrants in each state. 

Congratulations to our students!