Board of Trustees

Election to the Board of Trustees carries with it a responsibility of stewardship. By definition, trustees are the custodians of the school: they hold "in trust" in the school.

Current trustees accept the obligation to not only preserve, but to also add to the enterprise. In purview, trustees, even those who currently have children in the school, have a responsibility to create "their children's children's school." The work of trustees begins with fiduciary expectations of duty (due diligence on financials), care (executing decision by the standard of a "prudent" person), and obedience (to laws and bylaws). Beyond these duties, the work of trustees focuses exclusively on policies and strategies that are future-focused, and not on daily operations, which are delegated to the head of school. Trustees are called upon to contribute their time, thought, and energy, as well as financial resources, to support the viability and growth of the school.

2022-2023 New City School Board of Trustees

Kevin Buie
Andy Butler
Jina Choi
Alexis Cossé
Zach Foster
Kasey Grelle
Frank Hamsher
Mimi Hirshberg
Shirley Mensah, Chair
Eric Minute
Sujani Narayan Palagiri
Priyal Patel
Ajay Pathak

Jessica Perkins
Jessica Pittman
Cheryl Milton Roberts
Abby Roetheli, Parent Organization Co-Chair
Katie Sheth
Clint Shocklee
Dwan Speed
Angela Sears Spittal
Amy Weiss, Parent Organization Co-Chair
Aimee Wittman
Justin Woodard
Mary Ann Wymore